The hassle of having a screen that appears when trying to install a program can try to speed things up by lowering the level of security offered by Microsoft. Let’s find out why this thing must’n never be done.
WHAT IS IT?
The User Account Control (UAC), introduced on Windows Vista and included from Windows Server 2008 onwards, it allows you to limit changes only to system administrators, preventing malicious software from being executed. If you are not an administrator, you can still perform certain actions such as:
- Install updates by Windows Update
- Install driver by Windows Update
- See the Windows settings
- Associate Bluetooth devices
- Reset the network card and run repair / diagnosis systems
UAC can’t be disable in individual mode for user, but for all computer.
ENABLE / DISABLE UAC
We can go to check the setting of UAC under CONTROL PANEL -> USER ACCOUNT -> CHANGE CONTROL SETTINGS OF USER ACCOUNT. Moving the bar in front of us can increase or decrease the security level of Windows. To make the changes it is necessary to restart the PC.
DESCRIPTION OF SETTINGS
|Always notify||You will notified before programs male changes to your computer or to Windows settings that require the permission of an administrator. When you are notified, your Desktop will be dimmed, and you must either approve or deny the request in the UAC dialog box before you can do anything else on your computer.||This is the most secure setting. When you are notified, you should carefully read the contents of each dialog box before allowing changes to be made your computer.|
|Notify only when programs try to make changes to computer||You will be notified before programs make changes to your computer that require the permission of an administrator. You will notified if a program outside of Windows tries to make changes to a Windows setting. You will not be notified if you try to make changes to Windows settings that required the permission of an administration.||It’s usually safe to allow changes to be made to Windows setting without you being notified. However, certain programs that come with Windows can have commands or data passed to them, and malicious software can take advantage of this by using these programs to install files or change settings on your computer.|
|Notify only when programs try to make changes to computer (do not dim desktop)||You will be notified before programs make changes to your computer that require the permission of an administrator. You will be notified if a program outside of Windows tries to make changes to a Windows setting. You will not be notified if you try to make changes to Windows settings that require the permission of an administrator. NOT RECOMMENDED||This setting is the same at the previous setting, but you are not notified on the secure desktop. Because the UAC dialog box isn’t on the secure desktop with this setting, other programs might be able to interfere with the dialog’s visual appearance. This is small security risk if you already have a malicious program running on your computer.|
|Never notify||You will not be notified before any changes are made to your computer.If you are logged on as a standard user, any changes that require the permission of an administration will automatically be denied. If you are logged on as an administrator, programs can make changes to your computer without you knowing about it. If you select this setting, you will need to restart the computer to complete the process of turning off UAC. Once UAC is off, people that log on as administration will always have the permission of an administration. NOT RECOMMENDED||When you set UAC to never notify, you open up your computer to potential security risks. If you set UAC to never notify, you should be careful about which programs you run, because you will have the same access to the computer as you do. This includes reading and making changes to protected system areas, your personal data, saved files. Programs will also be able to communicate and transfer information to and from anything that your computer connects with.|
Boys/Girls avoid irreparable damage to our operating system using unsafe settings or worse, to share our data with people we do not want. We always use one of the first two settings listed.